Day 2 | Osaka, New Oriental Hotel for 5 nights

We made Osaka our first base. From there the plan was to visit Kyoto, Hiroshima and Osaka itself. We checked into the New Oriental Hotel. Which is not really new, it’s just that the Japanese seem to have a penchant for using the word “new” even if it’s not new at all. I booked three rooms (2 double/twins and a single room) and this hotel was within my string of a budget.

There is no in-room WiFi in our hotel #2. It was a mistake to book this 3-star (or is it a 2-star) hotel. I thought that I covered the WiFi requirement. But i guess I did not. They claim to have WiFi in the lobby but it is crappy. I can’t believe it because I am in Japan after all. It is so darn slow when I tried it that I simply gave up. The rooms in the New Oriental Hotel are so tiny (I heard this is the case everywhere anyway except the airport hotels). Simply enough to fit two single beds and a toilet. There’s an aisle between the beds and a corner space for the TV and fridge and a narrow closet. And that’s it. It is very cozy. There is no room to even open the luggage. One has to step over the luggage on the narrow passageway. So never bring a large suitcase. Besides, you will be lugging your suitcase from one train to another, traveling light is traveling sensibly. There is a coin operated laundry, so have no fear.

The cramped bathroom is another story. It’s like a prefabricated toilet and bath, like in a cruise liner. So tight it is.

Gabo who is used to staying in better hotels keep asking what the next hotel will be like. Then too, only Japanese shows are available on cable TV. Bring your own entertainment if you need some. That is, movies on laptops etc. Don’t forget to bring a number of power adaptors and an extension power strip.

The saving grace of this hotel is its own onsen or public bath located at the basement. The onsen makes the stay worthwhile. My mum and I used it many times to our great satisfaction.

20130925-181248.jpg

Complimentary breakfast. New Oriental Hotel.

20130925-181259.jpg

Diet friendly 🙂

Leave a comment